Debut Novel: Preparing for Launch

Congratulations! You’ve sold your first (debut) novel to a publisher who loves it. But wait! Your work has only just begun. A long–and sometimes bewildering–road looms ahead as you and your managing editor and other staff prepare to present your novel to highwaythe public!

It’s sort of like the biblical story of Esther. Chosen along with other beautiful maidens in the empire, she endured a whole year of preparations–beauty treatments, etc.–before the person in charge considered her fit to present to King Ahasuerus. And that year was time well-spent.

Just as a year or preparation for your novel will be time well spent. May I share my story?

Preparing Her Deadly Inheritance for Publication

With the contract signed and a projected release date in place, I was suddenly thrust into edits. My managing editor, Rowena Kuo, assigned me to another editor, J. Christine Richards, to help professionally polish my novel. For the next three months, we sent my novel’s manuscript back and forth between us by e-mail. Chris pointed out problems and made suggestions. Then I reviewed them and decided which would work. I was smart enough to realize that at least 99% of them were necessary. I made the needed changes, and every one improved the book.

Next came the proofreader–another editor hired to help catch as many grammar mistakes as possible. Again the manuscript came back to me to approve each of those changes.

In the meantime, I also worked hard on improving my Internet presence–web site, Facebook, blog, and many others. How else would readers get to know me and realize I had a book coming out? Lots of study, trial and error, but I made steady progress. Though, actually, I’m still working on that. Well, and having fun because contact with readers is one of the best things about being an author.social-media

Back to the preparations. Every book needs a cover, and toward the end of summer cover design began in earnest. When asked, I suggested using my heroine and her house on the cover, and after a tweak or two, the design team came up with the most marvelous cover. I will always be grateful for their dedication and skill.

Next came the back cover copy. Color me totally embarrassed because my every try was a bust. Finally, my publisher threw it open to other LPC authors. Fortunately, one of them came up with the exciting copy we needed, I only had to tweak it a tiny bit to more nearly natch the story..

Another need for the back cover cropped up. I hired a local photographer, and we held a photo shoot in my backyard. Crystal did an amazing job, but then she photographs models. What a blessing to have a friend whose daughter has such talent.

Next came the beta readers. Friends–both writers and readers–agreed to read advance e-copies of my novel. They kindly pointed out other trouble spots. Some wrote endorsements while others wrote reviews ready to post  on my novel’s release date.

The pre-launch sale on Amazon opened in December–one month before the novel’s January 2 release date and the race was on to be ready for my novel’s debut to the public.

Crunch time during that last month. I scrambled to set up a blog tour, an online book launch party, and a local book launch party for January. My publisher gave me a lot of help through another staff member. Without my publisher’s help I don’t know what I would have done.

Preparations for a book’s release can overwhelm, but a good and caring publishing house like Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas can make all the difference.in your books success. As the old saying goes …

Many hands make light work!

***

Dear Reader, I hope you enjoyed this behind-the-scenes look at book publishing. Next week I’ll share the tumult and excitement of releasing your first novel. Until then, may the Lord bless you!

2 thoughts on “Debut Novel: Preparing for Launch

Leave a Reply

