“I Don’t Have Diabetes!”

The day after the Write-to-Publish Conference in June, I got the news.

“I don’t have diabetes!” I insisted.

My nurse practitioner grinned at me and my spunky audacity. “So now, you’re the doctor?”

“Well, no,” I said, “but if you and I agree that I don’t have diabetes, then I don’t.”

Charmaine was’t buying it. She packed me off to another nurse who specializes in coaching new diabetics.

My writing life was about to acquire a new distraction. One that would challenge me and gobble a good chunk of time each day while I tried to understand and do what was necessary.

No more grabbing snacks and eating anything I pleased, whenever I pleased. Time to stock lots of fruits and veggies and start making meals again. Oh, byosemite-1646512__180 Yosemite National Park mountainsother!

But I did it.

Time to stop making excuses and start exercising regularly. Good grief!

But I did it.

The good news?

  • When the nurse tested my blood sugar, it was 102 (60-99 is normal). She said I only had to test my blood sugar three times a week when I woke in the morning.
  • Because the wellness tests indicated my A1C was 6.7 (kissing close to 7), no medical bracelet and no medications necessary
  • Colleen told me I could beat this by losing the weight, eating right, and exercising.

She sent me home with a blood glucose monitoring kit and my Healthy Living with Diabetes manual. I enrolled in a six-week hospital course by the same name.

Over the last three months, the confusion lifted, and I learned how to fit this new distraction into my writer’s life. In the meantime, I’m always looking for better ways to manage my blood sugar.

What did you find helpful in controlling blood sugar?

3 thoughts on ““I Don’t Have Diabetes!”

  1. I was diagnosed shortly after giving birth to my second born, while pregnant I walked 3 times a day and was careful when I ate. He had some issues when he was born and he came early, the Dr suggested no more kids as the 3rd one would come even earlier…..that stunk! Now that was almost 24 years ago come next Jan. It has changed my life a lot and I am now on an insulin pump with an oral pill. I take it one day at a time, enjoy life and what I can do. I test frequently and yes I allow myself a treat once in awhile. I realize it is something unseen by others and its hard at times for them to understand how I am affected. I got the medical bracelet from MedicAlert for my peace of mind and that of my hubby;s. I update it as needed and I live life as God as called me to live it, I work hard at not allowing Diabetes to define me. Plus throughout the almost 24 years I trained others what to watch for in case I wasn’t feeling good so they would know how to help me with little to no explanation, and that gives me the freedom to be me and know that if I have a low I am cared for without judgement. I have had some of the best friends who learned with me and were willing to walk the road of good and bad days. They listened, prayed, sometimes laughed with me and sometimes cried. And if on occasional someone was too overwhelmed by it or didn’t want to learn that was fine, I just limited my time with them because I didn’t feel safe and I didn’t want to be a burdened to them. The Lord has seem me through lots of seasons and have provided some of the most amazing friends I have ever been blessed with and my hubby and sons are at the top!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing your honest and insightful story, lcjohnson. As I read, you especially encouraged me by saying, “take it one day at a time, enjoy life and what I [you] can do.” When I first faced this new challenge of diabetes, it overwhelmed and confused me. Nearly three months later. I’ve finally learned to slow down and try to do just what you said. The Lord is seeing me through, too. As He and friends and family help, managing this new life is becoming more peaceful and less confusing. But, as you already know, I have a long way to go. So thank you for sharing your heart. Your whole post really helped. Bless you!

      Like

  2. I’m looking forward to reading your posts, Beth. I’m glad you’re sharing so candidly. LCJohnson, your response is just perfect. Your comment, “I trained others in what to watch for…” is a good reminder for a lot of “life’s situations”. When we let “trusted others'” into our story, all of our lives are enriched!

    Like

Leave a Reply

